Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
  •  
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
Holidays

2009 Holiday Schedule

Following is the list of American and Sierra Leone holidays that will be observed by American Embassy Freetown during calendar year 2009:

DATE

DAY

HOLIDAY

COUNTRY

January 01

Thursday New Year’s Day A/SL
January 19 Monday Martin Luther King Jr's Birthday A
 
February 16 Monday Presidents' Day A
March 9 Monday Maoulid-Un-Nabi SL
April 10 Friday Good Friday SL
April 13 Monday Easter Monday SL
April 27 Monday Independence Day SL
May 25 Monday Memorial Day A
July 03 Friday Independence Day A
September 07 Monday Labor Day A
October 12 Monday Columbus Day A
September TBA* Eid-Ul-Fitr SL
November 11 Wednesday Veterans' Day A
November 26 Thursday Thanksgiving Day A
November 27 Friday (TBA)* Tabaski SL
December 25 Friday Christmas Day A/SL
 
 December 28  Monday  Boxing Day  SL

* Muslim holidays to be announced (TBA) depending on the appearance of the moon.
A = American
SL = Sierra Leonean